TPO 10- Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Playing computer games is a waste of time. Children should not be allowed to play them.Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Living in this era of modern technology, fewer people can ignore or deny the crucial role that technology plays in our world. People, no matter young or old, are obsessed with this new intelligence. Technology could act like a two edge sword with both unique cons and pros that could be more important when it comes to children. Video games are one of the challenging issues.

One of the main problems with computer games is its addictive nature. This could be even more worrying when children are in the dilemma of playing video games or studying for their exams. Even if they opt to study, they can scarcely focus on the material since the brain is looking for its usual source of joy. Furthermore, it is noteworthy that when a child chooses playing video games instead of doing his school chores, he is learning how to escape from bitter facts of this life. That is why we can observe many irresponsible adults who have not learnt to face realities in their childhood.

On the other hand, getting overwhelmed by videogames can deprive kids from having active communication with real people, friends and family members. As it is totally evidenced, a huge part of our sociable personality is nurtured through interactions with other people in society. Computer games not only simulate a fake, unrealistic and fiction world for children, but also they can ruin their golden opportunities in childhood to acquire superior characteristics like sociability, self-confidence in relationships, self-esteem to talk in public and creativity.

Lacking of such abilities could bring them dramatic consequences in future.

At the end, it should be taken it into considerations that in spite of all probable negative effects of video games, now with the undeniable connection of technology with every aspect of our lives, it is becoming more difficult for parents to restrict their children completely. Thus, it is suggested to supervise the time and type of videogames based on psychological and professional advices of experts.