TPO26-It is better for children to choose jobs that are similar to their parents’ jobs than to choose jobs that are very different from their parents’ job.

In the dilemma of choosing a job, the advice of parents is quite decisive. Parents usually want their children to live the life they have always dreamed but never achieved. They usually suggest their children to enter a totally different area. Nevertheless, I strongly believe children would benefit more considerably if they choose a profession similar to their parents'.

First of all, children can readily access to the pile of experience their parents have accumulated during a long time. Their parents can shed light on the obstacles and barriers their child might confront with in that field. Furthermore, the child can benefit from what they parents inherited for them. As an instance, a businessman possessing a famous company or a politician who has made a variety of connections and friends can support their children considerably.

Another advantage, which is noteworthy, is that following the footsteps of parents can strengthen the parent-child bond. In this modernized era that it is stated that a great distance has been made among family members, having a mutual subject of conversation can help a lot. When a father talks about frustrations and numerous failures he had, it could be more interesting for the child to listen to such inspiring statements and experiences he is currently dealing with.

Finally yet importantly, following parents’ careers could save both time and energy. Society has to dedicate a lot of resources to prepare people for working. This is while children can easily learn from their parents as an skillful mentor.

Given the reasons illustrated above, it would be a more acurate decision for children to follow their parents’ profession as it would benefit themselves, their family and the society.