TPO-49 - Independent Writing Task Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? The ability to maintain friendships with a small number of people over a long period of time is more important for happiness than the ability to make many new friends.

In today's modern life, friendship plays a vital role in preserving people from depression. In my opinion, having long-term friendships has more impact on our stage of happiness. I feel this way for two main reasons, which I will explain in the following essay.

First of all, I believe when you are with a group of old friends, you feel much more comfortable. That is, close friends who have been together for several years know each other's behavior and manner. They do not need to be so polite and formal together, so they can say more jokes and have more fun, such as going to parks, watch comedy movies, etc. For example, when I was a freshman in college, I had a group of friends which we had known each other for four years, and also, I had a new friend in college. While I was with my old friends, I was so blessed, and I enjoyed their company a lot. In contrast, when I was with my new friend, the atmosphere of our friendship was not as friendly as what it was with my old friends. Therefore, I would rather spend time with them more often.

Secondly, close old friends can be more helpful when you need them in emergency times. In other words, if something urgent, such as being patient, demand for money, or talking about private problems happen, they will be there for you no matter what. In consequence, you can rely on them every time you want, so you will not be afraid of being alone, and that makes you be a happier person without anxiety. For instance, when I was a fifteen-year-old girl, my mother had breast cancer. In those days, I needed to talk to a person about my problem. My best friend was always there for me and heard my worries. If she did not help me in that tough time, I might end up having severe depression. As a result, I could deal with my issue in a little time with her suitable advises.

In conclusion, remaining as a member of the old friend's groups can make you much happier. I think this way because close friends' friendships are more pleasant and delightful, and you can depend on them more.