TPO 49

Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

The ability to maintain friendships with a small number of people over a long period of time is more important for happiness than the ability to make many new friends easily.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

There have been some moot points about whether keeping friendships with a small number of people over a long period is more important for happiness or making new friends. The question of this issue has aroused as a subject of controversy among academicians. When it comes to my position, by weighing up the pros and cons, I strongly subscribe to the point that maintaining friendships is more important for our pleasure. I have some reasons, the most outstanding of which will be explicated in the ensuing paragraphs.

The first reason worth discussing here is that due to a great relationship between old friends, there is very strong intimacy among these kinds of friendship, therefore, old friends can bring joyful sense for each other easily. As a case to the viewpoint, I vividly remember, when I departed to military service, I had a difficult and tedious day in that place. One day when I was a guard in guns room, I visited my old friend who makes huge happiness for me. Mahdi and I have a great friendship since high school. He was one of the most important patrons for me in those days. Thus, visiting Mahdi on military service helped me to spend that difficult day easily. My personal experience competently corroborates to the point that maintaining old friends is very significant for our pleasure.

By the same token, another paramount reason to be mentioned here is that olds friends know our foibles and negative behaviors which lead to support us in the arduous conditions. Among old friends, there are many expectations which we can not see between new friends. As a consequence, old friendships cover our foibles and try to solve our problems in each condition. My personal example demonstrates this reality, due to the bad economic situation and recession, I could not take insurance for my car. Two months ago, I had a terrible car crash which leads to damages. Owing to lacked insurance, I had to compensate for the damages by myself. Hence I had not this amount of money and I forced to sell my car. In this situation, Mahdi, who I introduced him in the aforementioned reason, borrowed me some money which helps me to compensate for the damages. My personal example shed some light to the point that old friends help us in an arduous situation which we can not expect from new friends.

To wrap the argument up, I reiterate that maintaining old friendships is very remarkable for my happiness. These persons not only bring us much cheerful sense but also help us in various situations.