TPO-50

Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

All university students should be required to take history courses no matter what their field of study is.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Everyone has his or her own crucial thoughts and mindset makes us different from each other. Those all thoughts and mindset taught from our school and university as an education. I am a student hence I feel as I have to add my view into this topic even if I never thought about it. To me, I am standing as a counterpart because of some reasons that will illustrate in the following paragraphs.

First and foremost, freedom is an important part. it gives us chance to make a mistake by releasing us from a box because when our failures decrease, our attempts decrease at the same time. Studying history is important to some of the university student due to their careers such as lawyers, anthropologists, and historians, on the other hand, learning past is not necessary(engineers, mathematicians, and physics). For example, there is policy to take a history course in my university; therefore, most of engineering freshman students including me had to take this course. most of us did not try hard and got average grade also below on history class due to our background knowledge and interest. At this time, what my perspective was what if we had a chance to choose another course we interest, we might be got better score and knowledge what we have to focus on.

Second, we should think about our, student’s, finances because we have unstable finance courses, mostly come from our parents and part-time jobs, but university tuitions are rapidly increasing last few decades unless caring our finances. it becomes high pressure, especially on our parents. For instance, I am an international student who pay extra 3 credits on unnecessary courses every year because of university policy. my university takes over $1000 on each credit from international students, and I did pay roughly $4000 that can buy a new laptop for my undesirable course to educate. this was being bothersome both my parents and me. For this reason, all university students should take a history course can be financially unfair to some of us.

In conclusion, I disagree with the university policy that every university student should take history course under financial and freedom issue, despite the fact that to learn from our past generation is an important lesson for us to grow.