TPO-50

Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

All university students should be required to take history courses no matter what their field of study is.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Nowadays, courses in universities have been divided precisely into different sections according to different majors. However, it's controversial whether students should take history courses as a compulsory class. From my perspective, it'll have negative impacts if every student is required to take history courses.

To begin with, taking history courses will exert too much pressure on students. Students are already experiencing the pressure from learning their major courses. For example, medical students have a very tight schedule. It has already cost them much time to preview and review for their major subjects. Besides, they also need to squeeze some time in hospitals to accumulate clinical experience. If they are required to take extra history courses, they won't have any spare time at all. In this case, I suppose students shouldn't be asked to take compulsory history classes.

Besides, taking history courses will also leave financial burden on students and parents. If all university students are attending history courses, the university will definitely be in need of more teaching faculties. It will cost the school a large budget to hire the teachers and buy the textbooks, which will also be reflected on the tuition fee for students. Since the advanced study has already been a burden to many families, some students even have to take part-time jobs in order to pay for the fees. Therefore, the high tuition won't do good to students' grades either.

Admittedly, learning history does have some merits. On the one hand, students can prevent repeating the same mistakes from reflecting on historical events. For instance, it's essential for students to learn the mistake from world wars and other horror actions and prevent this kind of events from happening again to help keep a peaceful world. On the other hand, history can help students better understand the reasons for some historical events, which will also help us solve modern problems. However, there's no need that students learn history at class. They can get familiar with history through other methods such as TV shows and podcasts.

In conclusion, although learning history courses have some benefits, it's unnecessary for every university student to take the class because of their tight schedule and tuition burden. In addition, there're other methods for them to learn history out of class.