TPO1 Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? At universities and colleges, sports and social activities are just as important as classes and libraries and should receive equal financial support.

All around the world universities and colleges are always dealing with how they should allot their budget to various activities. In this regard, some people are of the opinion that developing classes and libraries has numerous and valuable advantages that universities should allocate all financial support just for them. On the other extreme of the rope, the overwhelming majority of people think that sports and social activities have significant effects on society. Hence, these activities should be supported as equal to classes and libraries. While two groups take their positions, personally speaking, I believe that the latter group carries more weight. In the following paragraph, I will cogently explain my reasons to justify my points of view.

As the first and paramount reason, universities’ financial support of sports clubs and social activities has direct and considerable impacts on students’ performance. In other words, paying attention to sports and social activities helps students reduce their stress and anxieties; consequently, they can concentrate on their tasks and duties remarkably. For instance, empirical research conducted by some master students at many universities shows that departments paying attention to students’ physical and mental health in addition to developing their social abilities such as teamwork ability have students who can control their stress in critical situations, bear responsibilities efficiently, and complete their projects properly. Actually, in sports clubs, students can do various exercises such as yoga and listen to interesting music helping them relieve their stress and pressure daily of life. They also strengthen their minds and obtain more positive energy encouraging them to deal with unprecedented challenges and any difficulties in their life enthusiastically. As a matter of fact, students develop some parts of these skills and abilities in sports and social groups rather than in libraries and study halls. Therefore, the more universities invest money in sports clubs and social activities, the more efficient and high-performance students they will have.

The second reason is, assigning money to sports clubs and developing social activity groups encourages students to find other sides of their personality and skills. To be more specific, these activities help students discover their hide talents. For example, four years ago, when I was a student, not only was I ashamed to talk to my classmates, but I also didn’t have the self-confidence to present a lecture in class. After the first year, the administration of the university implemented supportive strategies such as developing music groups. I joined the music group and found many friends who helped me be more sociable than in the past. As time goes on, communicating with other group members and learning academic music helped me know that I can play the guitar and sing in live concerts. Nowadays, I work as a musician for a music institute and play the guitar for a very famous music band in my city. As a result, if my university hadn’t developed an effective long-term strategy, neither could I discover my artistic abilities as a singer and musician, nor choose an interesting job and earn money.

In conclusion, allocating equal budget to sports clubs and social groups play a pivotal role in relieving students’ stress, empowering their mental ability, and improving their performance in accomplishing their duties. Moreover, students can discover their talents and develop their skills to achieve their dreams.