At universities and colleges, sports and social activities are just as important as classes and libraries and should receive equal financial support.

The given claim is correct in addressing the importance of sports and social activities as an indispensable part of college life, but it is indefensible when uplifting sports and social life to the same height of classes and libraries, and even less considerate when suggesting equal financial support for the two.

Admittedly, sports and social activities entail undeniable significance in tertiary education. Quite superficially, college students need places to exercise their body and hold social life. A healthy and sociable graduate would be preferred to a gauche nerd by potential employers. In more philosophical terms, athleticism and sociability are partially, apart from academia, the purpose of modern college education. These qualities are reasonable expectations college students are supposed to fulfill on campus.

However, the significance of sports and social activities cannot challenge the dominant position of classes and libraries. Dating back to their origin, universities have always been a gathering place of the best intellectual minds – a definition that did not change with the vicissitudes of time. To realize the academic role of a college, classes and libraries are a must. Take a look at the best universities in the world – Harvard, Yale, Cambridge, Oxford – each and every one of them hold strong prestige in their strengths of academic research and the capabilities to cultivate the young generation. While encourage their students to socialize and exercise, none of them has turned themselves into a sports school or a social club.

The speaker is being even more simplistic appealing equal financial support for the two. To a university, teaching facilities are costly: a library building might cost millions of dollars already, not to mention the library system, the books and references, the personnel; classrooms are expensive to decorate and the teachers are expensive to hire, taking another bulk of the school budget. In contrast, a college normally does not need fancy sports ground to hold an Olympic; neither does it need extravagant social clubs to open a parade. Therefore, sports and social activities should not be given the same share in the school budget as classes and libraries, even when we admit their importance.

In sum, the speaker has made a two-fold mistake. His claim rests firstly on a shaking assumption that sports and social life are as important as classes and libraries in higher education, and secondly lacks economic savvy in assuming the two categories should are the same in costs. Therefore, my position to this claim is full disagreement.