“When people succeed, it is because of hard work. Luck has nothing to do with success.” Do you agree or disagree with the quotation above? Use specific reasons and examples to explain your position.

Success and failure are two sides of a coin where success is the result of hard work. I totally agree with the statement because hard work is a measurable quantity whereas luck does not have any measure. There are several examples which strengthen my position.

Moreover, failure and success can prove on the basis of work done by a person. For example, to score A grade a student studies for 3 hours daily and another student studies 3 hours before day of examination and the first student who studies daily gets A grade. In both the cases the number of hours gives measure of hard work done by the first student. There is no such indication which proves that luck is important to get success.

Furthermore, there are so many success stories of famous people and every story tells about how hard work they did to achieve success in life. The Missile man of India Dr APJ Abdul Kalam belongs to a small village and his delicateness made him a renowned scientist and former president of India. Isaac Newton, Galileo, Maxwell, Kalpna Chawla and many more famous people’s tales show paragons of hard work.

However, some people argue that with hard work luck is equally important as Indian cricket player Sachin Tendulkar out on 99 runs and missed his century but it is not true because if he can make 99 runs then he can score one last also but he missed may be because of nervousness. There are different aspects such as nervousness, overconfidence, lack of consciousness, or maybe he did not practice a particular type of ball which out him. There is no strong point which shows it happened because of bad luck.

Finally, we can not blame imaginary things for our failure and luck is also an imaginary aspect to defend self respect. Aforementioned examples prove that people get success because of hard work, not luck.