Your school has enough money to purchase either computers for students or books for the library. Which should your school choose to buy —computers or books? Use specific reasons and examples to support your recommendation.

Nowadays, the habit of reading is in danger of extinction. People prefer to spend their time watching television instead of reading a good book. This phenomenon is maybe the result of the development of social media and the use of the computers. I truly believe that schools, such as the one I currently attend, should spend more money in the creation and promotion of spaces for people to read books.

Books are credible and respectable sources of information. Sometimes, when we surf on internet, we found inaccurate information because the source is unknown. A lot of people find easier to read a paper book than going through different web sites to access an article.

When reading from a book is extremely easy to make notes or quotations that we can later review before the exam. Depending on a computer to study might sometimes be difficult because internet access might not be always available. Moreover, not everyone counts with the resources to buy a laptop which restricts the access to the online information. If I had the opportunity I would encourage my School Board of Trustees to create more spaces for people to read. It is crucial for college students to develop reading and understanding skills in order to reduce the stress and anxiety of taking an exam. We should not totally relay on our computers when searching for information. However, we should read more books when doing our research papers and always include our word cites at the end.

This is the reason why, I believe that my school should spend more money in the creation of libraries. Books are treasures and we should always do the best use of it.