In a cashless society, people use more credit cards. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this phenomenon?

There is no denying the fact that modern innovations like credit cards have made strong contributions to the life. However, myriad of academics believe that the benefits of these financial instruments are indisputable, others advocate that it endangers safety & security of money. This essay will elaborate on both the merits and demerits of this concept.

At the outset, there are ample reasons why this idea of society being cashless is considered as the advantageous. The most conspicuous one is that people need not carry bulky wallets all the time and hence alleviates the risk of being burgled. Not only carrying a card is a convenient due to its size but it also proffers the benefit of making money safe as in the case of losing the card, the bank could be prompted immediately and intimate to cancel the payments through such lost card. It should also be emphasized that, nowadays, smartphone cases contain inbuilt card pocket, where multiple cards can be stored which makes it easy to carry without occupying much space.

On the flip side, critics adopt an opposing view and tend to believe that if the society goes cashless, it can become more spend-thrift. With the handy cards, all the time and swiping machines available at everywhere will make the people impulsive buyers leading towards buying unnecessary things, which will harm the individuals and society both as it would lead to consumerism. Moreover, due to its tiny size, it could be easily dropped without notice and thus may cost a lot if falls into wrong hands.

To recapitulate, form the above arguments, one can conclude that there are both benefits and drawbacks of credit cards, both of which are indeed too great to ignore.