It is becoming increasingly popular to have a year off between finishing school and going to university. Some people believe that the year off is a waste of time while others believe that it is necessary.Discuss.

Skipping a year after school is becoming a new trend among youngsters. The proponent of this idea believes that it is good practice and necessary for the overall growth of the students but opponents suggest that it as a wastage of time and should not be considered after schooling. This essay will demonstrate both sides of the argument.

To begin with, practical knowledge is certainly better than theoretical knowledge. Taking a break after school is known as “gap year” and is beneficial for the overall growth and personality development of the students. Nowadays, a majority of students take one year off before joining the university and spend time in learning new languages, travel across the globe, contribute to the society and do research activities. Many universities also give preference to the student who has experience beyond school subjects. Gap year surely makes students more matured, independent and augments chances of various career opportunities.

In spite of the above learnings, some people suggest that gap year may add more pressure on the student to perform once they join the university after a gap, resulting in stress. Taking a break also impact continuity of studies and student might not join classes once they started earning.

To conclude, according to preceding arguments, taking a break before college is a personal choice and must be taken after proper analysis of future prospects. Break certainly helps a student to be become mature and improve decision making.