On Balmer Island, where mopeds serve as a popular form of transportation, the population increases to 100,000 during the summer months. To reduce the number of accidents involving mopeds and pedestrians, the town council of Balmer Island should limit the number of mopeds rented by the island's moped rental companies from 50 per day to 25 per day during the summer season. By limiting the number of rentals, the town council will attain the 50 percent annual reduction in moped accidents that was achieved last year on the neighbouring island of Seaville, when Seaville's town council enforced similar limits on moped rentals.

In the argument the author concludes that by decreasing the rent amount of the mopeds from 50 per day to 25 per day would result in to decresaing the number if accidents between the mopeds and the pedestrians. This conclusion is based on the same scenerio faced by the neighbouring Island and doing so will decrease the accidents 50 percent annualy. As there is no specific evidence provided by the author to relate both satements and due to absence of any supporting conditions the author conclusion may not to be considered according to me.

Firstly, the author described thet the main source of transpotation among the population of the Balmer Island is mopeds and so due to this many people are renting the moped for there way of transpotation. This result in one big flow that as the people were able to renting mopeds so this leads to number of people were able to spend money on renting that is also high and so if the rent will reduce then the people will hire more mopeds compare to the previous and will also leads to increase in the number of accidents. this raises the question that does people even walk more after decreasing the rents of the mopeds? And on what bases does decreaseing the rents will result in the decreasing in the number of accidents.

Secondly, during the summers the population increase to 100,000 would result in to the increase people renting the moped and so if the rents are decreased or not it does not leads to any conclution to such a huge number of population and it also does not make nay specific affect lowering on the number of accidents then previous one.

Thirdly, The author had compared the Balmer Island with the Seaville Island on the bases of the decreaing the fare of the mopads to decreaing the number of accidents, with out take into considertion of any basic difference between the two and so this causes the question about wether both having the same number of population? does the anither Island people also uses the mopeds as there primary way of transport?.

Finally, due to lack of evidance of the assumptions made by the author in decreaing the number of accident does not likely to be happen. If the Government of Balmer Island consider the specific features of the Seavill's Island in which both have same condition the and then only they can consider such kind of conclusion.