The following appeared in a letter to the editor of the Balmer Island Gazette.

"On Balmer Island, where mopeds serve as a popular form of transportation, the population increases to 100,000 during the summer months. To reduce the number of accidents involving mopeds and pedestrians, the town council of Balmer Island should limit the number of mopeds rented by the island's moped rental companies from 50 per day to 25 per day during the summer season. By limiting the number of rentals, the town council will attain the 50 percent annual reduction in moped accidents that was achieved last year on the neighboring island of Seaville, when Seaville's town council enforced similar limits on moped rentals."

The author's letter to the editor of the Balmer Island claims that the number of mopeds rented by moped rental companies should be limited to half of the actual number during summer season. By stating in this way, author fails to mention several key factors on the bases of which this argument can be evaluated. The conclusion relies on assumptions, for which there is no clear evidence. Therefore, the argument is rather weak, unconvincing and has several flaws.

Firstly, according to the author, population of Balmer Island increases dramatically during summer. Undoubtedly Balmer Island is a tourist spot. As summer season is a time when people go out for vacations. By reducing the number of mopeds from 50 to 25 will highly effects the tourists. It will be highly difficult for them to visit places around Balmer. This decision may result in reduction of visitors to Balmer Island. Therefore, author has to determine all the necessary side effects or causes of this decision. Furthermore, one can also think of other ways to reduce accidents. For instance, Government can think of widening the road and creating foot paths for pedestrians to reduce the accidents. Also, Decreasing the mopeds to half of the number may result in increase in number of pedestrians, which might again cause the same issue.

Secondly, one can think of improving other ways of transport. For example, increasing the public transport such as buses, metro, vans which can carry more people as well as reasonable for the visitors. One cannot deny that 4 wheeler are safer than 2 wheeler and hence we may prevent the serious accidents. This will not only reduce the use of mopeds but also increases the economy of the state as it will attract for visitors. In addition to that, traffic rules can be improved to reduce the accidents. Motorists should pay a high penalty if they are not following the rules or if they commit any accidents. Hence, I can say that there are numerous ways to deal with this issue.

Finally, author comments that, 50 percent reduction in moped accidents was achieved last year on the island of Seaville. And hence, it will establish a similar effect in Balmer. I strongly disagree with this statement because, we are talking about 2 different islands. There might be various dissimilarities between these places. Author has to make a proper survey taking all the important factors to condsideration. There should be some strong evidences like last years's population of Seaville Island compared to other years because if the population is reduced then reduction in accidents is obvious.

To wind up, the argument is flawed and therefore, unconvincing. It could considerably be strengthened by adding some cogent evidences based on relevant facts. It is very necessary to have a complete knowledge on the issue to take any decision.