The following appeared in a letter to the editor of the Balmer Island Gazette.

"On Balmer Island, where mopeds serve as a popular form of transportation, the population increases to 100,000 during the summer months. To reduce the number of accidents involving mopeds and pedestrians, the town council of Balmer Island should limit the number of mopeds rented by the island's moped rental companies from 50 per day to 25 per day during the summer season. By limiting the number of rentals, the town council will attain the 50 percent annual reduction in moped accidents that was achieved last year on the neighboring island of Seaville, when Seaville's town council enforced similar limits on moped rentals."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

In the given passage, the author thinks that limiting the number of mopeds rented by the island's rental companies would reduce the number of accidents in Balmer Island. In my opinion the conclusion is flawed because it fails to account for a numbers of factors that must be taken in account. In the argument, the author not only uses ambiguous and vague terms, but also uses imcompatible comparison with another town named Seaville. Moreover, the author relies on incompatible statistics in the argument.

First of all, the author of the argument indicated that moped is one of the popular transportation in Balmer Island. But there is no indication that moped is the most popular or the only popular trasportation medium for the people of Balmer Island. So, there is no guarantee that reducing the number of moped will significantly decrease the number of accidents between moped and pedestrians. People in Balmer Island may use other form of transportations and they may also involve in accidents. There is no clear information that may prove that mopeds are most responsible for the accidents in Balmer Island.

Secondly, the author only states limiting the number of mopeds rented by the island's rental companies as the only solution. But there is no guarantee that this will work most effectively in the given context. There may be other solutions that may work even better than the proposed solution by the author. The town council of Balmer Island my undertake a project to make people aware of the accidents. The rules can be made more strict than before for both of the moped drivers and the pedestrians. These solutions can work better than the proposed one.

Thirdly, in the argument, the author presents a comparision between Balmer Island and Seaville town. This comparison is not compatible because the author has not mentioned enough information that may support the given comparision. The situation of the Balmer Island may completely differ form the situation of the Seaville Island such as the main sources of accidents may not be same in the two locations. Moreover, the author indicates of summer while talking about Balmer Island but never indicates of summer while talking about Seaville town.So, the assumption that the solution that worked for Seaville town will also work for the Balmer Island is not feasible.

In conclusion, we can say that the argument could be strengthened if the author could prove that moped is the most popular transportation in Balmer. The argument could be further strengthened if the author can guarantee that the proposed solution is the only feasible solution for decreasing the accidents in Balmer Island. If the author could give a proper comparison between the two towns indicated in the argument, the argument would be logical. So, we can say that the authors argument is flawed for the aforementioned reasons.