The following appeared in a letter to the editor of the Balmer Island Gazette.

"On Balmer Island, where mopeds serve as a popular form of transportation, the population increases to 100,000 during the summer months. To reduce the number of accidents involving mopeds and pedestrians, the town council of Balmer Island should limit the number of mopeds rented by the island's moped rental companies from 50 per day to 25 per day during the summer season. By limiting the number of rentals, the town council will attain the 50 percent annual reduction in moped accidents that was achieved last year on the neighboring island of Seaville, when Seaville's town council enforced similar limits on moped rentals."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The argument may seem coherent, it is nevertheless belied and subject to further investigation to be wholely cogent and logical. The author of the letter suggests that as a popular way of transportation, mopeds users has culminated during summer, while leaves no comments for conditions for winter. By assuming that less users will use mopeds in winters, the author overlooked possibilities that it is the snowy and slippery road condition that give rise to more accidents during winter. this in turn will contradict the advise to reduce usage of mopeds only in summer. Or, it would deprave the logical chain if the actual situation is that because the Balmer island posits on the equator, weather in winters is almost as nice as that of summers. Thus usage is evenly spreaded through out the whole year and only by restraining use in summer will not allievate the fatal condition of frequent accidents.

what's more, causes of these accidents involving mopeds are left blank, allowing numerous factors to come in effact. For example, the transportation system is not friendly enough - no traffic lights for pedestrains, no signs for possible crossing, no stop signs, et al. - for pedestrains in balmar island where people are forced to risk their lives when passing down a road. it is hardly a problem of population of mopeds that is crucial in this matter, given the accident rate overall is exponentially high due to the poor development of the system. it would be counterproductive to confine usage of mopeds because choosing to walk is a more dangerous selection.

To reduce the population of mopeds, the author contends that the town council should limit the number rented by the rental companies. The presumption underlies behind such measure is that the population of mopeds can be distributed larged to rentals, with minorities to owned ones. And hence, evidence of statistics of different sources of the mopeds should be presented, and without which, the advise is effete and may lead the solutions to a totally wrong direction. Moreover, numbers should be provided in order to estimate by how many should the council ask to reduce from the rental companies.

The author also predicts that by implementing the methods that he gives in the letter, the town should be able to put the poor condition involving mopeds under control because of what was achieved in the previous year in the constigeous island of seaville. However, what if the situation of island of seavile differ significantly? it is likely that during the last year, enactment of regulations were valid on island of seaville because technology has not been fully developed and people considered mopeds a less comfortable way of transportation. Whereas this year, due to the advancing of mopeds, people are more reluctant to give their main form of transportation up. what's more, the successful experience of island of seaville is not a determinant for a positive outcome of the reforms on balmar island. In a similar manner of what was aforementioned, the reason for accidents between the two island may be utterly different, where there is no cure-all for all complex situation.