The following appeared in a memorandum from the owner of Movies Galore, a chain of

video rental stores.

“In order to reverse the recent decline in our profits, we must reduce operating expenses at

Movies Galore’s ten video rental stores. Since we are famous for our special bargains, raising

our rental prices is not a viable way to improve profits. Last month our store in downtown

Marston significantly decreased its operating expenses by closing at 6:00 P.M. rather than

9:00 P.M. and by reducing its stock by eliminating all movies released more than five years

ago. Therefore, in order to increase profits without jeopardizing our reputation for offering

great movies at low prices, we recommend implementing similar changes in our other nine

Movies Galore stores.”

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to

decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain

how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The argument could be summarized as a movie renal store owner aims to stop the declination of it’s profit without effecting the existing repetation of the store that it is selling great movies by a low prices. Then the owner recommended to reduce the operational costs, which could be achieved by reducing the daily opening hours of the store and by get ride of the videos of the movies that is issued more than 5 years ago. This recommendation could be validated by answering a set of questions.

For instance, the owner of the store should provide a clear logic answer about what is the main reason of this profit declination. Perhaps, the reasons of this declination could be solved without effecting the reputation of the store. As it could be expected that reducing working hours of a store could itself be a reason of more decreasing the overall selling rates.

Furthermore, the owner should answer questions related to the selling rate and operating costs circumstances of each store. Maybe each store has it’s own operating strategy that is not costing that much amount of mounthly bills of the store. Consequently, it is not a logic to apply the same strategy on a high opeating cost big branch on a smaller branch which operating costs is nothing compared to the a downtown main branch for example.

Moreover, the owner should provide a clear records about what is the selling rate of movies that is issued more than 5 years ago. Perhaps, a certain type of movies, which is imported from other country and translated to the launage of the society where this shop is operating, would have high demand from the market up to 10 years for example since it’s first apperance in the home counrty of the movie. Thus, it is needed to show the type of availe movies in the store and the selling records of these old movies in order to validate the owner’s recommendation success.

In addition, the author need to clarify what is the selling rates of the 9 stores during the period from 6PM tp 9PM. Consequently, it could be investigated that closing the shop that these hours dialy will not have significant effect on the selling records of the shops. It could be noticed also that maybe different braches of the store have different selling peaks hours therefore it could be excluded the shops that have sellig peak hours during this period of time and to be detected another closing hours for these shops.

Consequently, the shop’s owner should provide clear answers to any kind of questions that might float in the shop’s managers’ heads in order to convience them by hi/her own recoomendation about the ways how to reverse the declination of the profit of the branches all over the market.