The following is a memorandum from the business manager of a television station.

"Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. During this time period, most of the complaints received from viewers were concerned with our station's coverage of weather and local news. In addition, local businesses that used to advertise during our late-night news program have just cancelled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to the programs and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should restore the time devoted to weather and local news to its former level."

The author argument said that in order to attract more viewers to the program and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, the station will restore the time devoted to weather and local news to its former level. The argument may seem plausible, but careful scrutiny reveal some flaws.

First of all, devoting more time for weather and local news not guarantee an increase on viewer. devoting more time in one program can also make viewer feel bored if the program is not attracting. adding more time in boring programs just make the situation worse. it is better to evaluate the program or use a new concept in order to refresh the audience.

Secondly, the ads that canceled their advertising contract not necessarily caused by the absence of weather and local news. An advertising company that canceling a contract may seem bad. but, it may not only caused by the absence or little time of the program. it may be caused by the unsuitable that occur between the program and the ads or they just want to cancel the contract with their own decision and reason.

In conclusion, the evidence provided by the author is not enough to conclude that they need more time for weather and local news in order to increase viewers and attract more ads. Moreover, increasing viewer is more complicated than just devoting more duration in one program, the program's quality, concept, and any other aspect also takes place in attracting viewers.