The following is a recommendation from the Board of Directors of Monarch Books.

"We recommend that Monarch Books open a café in its store. Monarch, having been in business at the same location for more than twenty years, has a large customer base because it is known for its wide selection of books on all subjects. Clearly, opening the café would attract more customers. Space could be made for the café by discontinuing the children's book section, which will probably become less popular given that the most recent national census indicated a significant decline in the percentage of the population under age ten. Opening a café will allow Monarch to attract more customers and better compete with Regal Books, which recently opened its own café."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The recommendation of opening a cafe in Monarch bookstore is unlikely to attract more customers because it is based on questionable assumptions.

First, the board of directors suggests to remove children book section in order to open a cafe within a store citing reduction in percentage of children accornig to recent census. However, it is not known whether this reduction in percentage of children was more or few. Percentage do not convey the absolute value, the reduction in children population could of few. Moreover, there is possibility that number of children below 10 have never reduced instead the number of adult population must have increased.Thus, percent change in children population belies the trun change in number of children. EVen if the number of children below 10 years have reduced countrywide, it is not known whether there is significant reduction in population of children in locality where Monarh Bookstore is situated because children in local area forms the customer base of Monarch Bookstore and not those from all over the country. Therefore, removing children section is likely to be counterproductive and reduce the number of customers of the Monarch bookstore.

Second,it is assumed by the Board of Directors of the Monarch Books that since the bookstore has been at the same place for more than twenty years, it is likely to attract more customer into cafe. But the fact that the Monarch Book is known for books militates against the suggestion of the Board of Directors. It is being assumed that there are no other good cafes present in the locality to vie with the Monarch Books. Presence of other good cafes in the neighbourhood will probably reduce the customre base of the Monarch Books. Now, the Monarch Book will lose the customers purchasing book as well as those plannig to come to cafe. Thus, the recommendation is unlikely to increase the customer base of the Monarch Books.

Third, Board of Directors states that by opening a cafe within a bookstore, the Monarch Books could compete with the Regal Books. In doing so,the Board of Director assumes that the Regal Books and the Monarch Books have the overlapping customer base. There is possibility that the Regal Books is famous for selling books that are not sold by the Monarch Books. Also, the cafe in Regal Books could become more succesful because people like the taste of coffe and other eateries served there. In either way, the Monarch Books will lose its customer base to the Regal Books.

In conclusion, the recommendation of the Board of Directors of the Monarch Books is unlikely to gravitate more customers because it is based on flawed assumption of questionable authenticity.