The following report appeared in the newsletter of the West Meria Public Health Council.

"An innovative treatment has come to our attention that promises to significantly reduce absenteeism in our schools and workplaces. A study reports that in nearby East Meria, where fish consumption is very high, people visit the doctor only once or twice per year for the treatment of colds. Clearly, eating a substantial amount of fish can prevent colds. Since colds represent the mot frequently given reason for absences from school and work, we recommend the daily use of Ichthaid—a nutritional supplement derived from fish oil—as a good way to prevent colds and lower absenteeism."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

In this report, the author suggests that consuming more fish can prevent colds, and reduce absenteeism in our schools and workplaces.

It needs more evidence when considering the high correlation between the number of seeing the doctor and the fish consumption. It’s likely that East Meria’s GDP is below the average among the country so residents tend to buy medicine in the drugstore rather than spend large amount of money visiting a doctor. What’s more, it’s better for making accurate inference by getting more natural resources between West Meria and East Meria. It’s possible that East Meria is located along the ocean or river, and it’s rather convenient for the citizens to consume fish instead of meat.

Even though the consumption of fish is highly correlated to the lower rate of cold in East Meria, the original health state of two cities is unknown. If citizens living in East Meria tend to exercise during their leisure time, then it’s reasonable that they have stronger immense system than that of West Meria. Consequently, they don’t have to visit a doctor often given that the cost of health insurance in two cities is same. There are also various variables affecting one’s health, such as the personal sanitary, weather, and even air quality. It needs to list more relative data before determining fish is the only one factor of suffering from cold.

On the other hand, it also has to check whether every students or employees give reasons for absences from school and work is honest. It’s possible sometimes people may encounter academic pressure or being isolated by other classmates. In this case, students definitely take a day off without saying the real reason, in contrast, they would prefer using the common excuse such as cold to stay at home. Similarly, employees are also do the same thing when being lazy or idle.

The author recommends taking lchthaid to supply body with enough nutrition. However, there’s no data showing the function of consuming fish is equivalent to taking a pill. It’s also likely that the essential ingredient when eating fish isn’t the oil but the eyes or certain parts of its meat.

To sum up, it still leaves lots of logical flaws and wrong inferences in this report, and it had better make a detailed survey before making a conclusion that eating more fish can lower the rate of absenteeism.