The following is taken from a memo from the

advertising director of the Super Screen Movie

Production Company.

“According to a recent report from our marketing

department. during the past year. fewer people attended

Super Screen-produced movies than in any other year.

And yet the percentage of positive reviews by movie

reviewers about specific Super Screen movies actually

increased during the past year. Clearly, the contents of

these reviews are not reaching enough of our

prospective viewers. Thus, the problem lies not with the

quality of our movies but with the public ‘s lack of

awareness that movies of good quality are available.

Super Screen should therefore allocate a greater share

of its budget next year to reaching the public through

advertising.”

The advertising director of Super Screen Movie (SSM) suggests that more amount of budget should be allocated for advertisement to reach more public. His suggestion is based on some superficial assumptions; 1) Public are unaware of their movie- which is of good quality- according to him. 2) Movies are of good quality as the reviewers cited it as a good one. 3) public is very interested to watch their so-called good movies and other groundless assumptions as well.

Firstly, the director here assumes that the public is really interested in the genre of the movie they are screening, however, no researches are carried out to support the claim. An additional research is required about the public interested genre and the genre they are screening on their screens. Also, the research is to be conducted for the price of movies. It might be possible that other movie makers of the same genre are offering customers at a cheaper price with additional benefits.

Secondly, the director also assumes that the movie they are screening is of good quality based on some reviews of movie critics rather taking the opinion from moviegoers. It is possible that the reviewers liked the movie so they cited positively for the movie and public did not like the idea of the movie. Aso, as we all know about the public craze for celebrities, the actors who are employed in the movie might not be the favorite actors of the public which is not researched by the director. Also, he assumes that public unawareness is the only cause for its declined customers. There is a possibility that the public is aware but ignoring his movie as there might be a better movie in the theater at the same time ith publics' favorite celebrities. Spending a substantial amount of advertising based on incomplete research of director might be a great loss to SSM.

Thirdly, the director also assumes that public is so much interested to watch their movies, if his assumption is right though, other factors might have been involved for which they are not coming to watch movies. The price of tickets they are charging compared to their competitors offers they are providing, facilities they will provide to their customers as compared to others. Hence these areas are also not mentioned in the research of the directors and he jumped into the conclusion readily.

In sum, the suggestion by the advertising director of Super Screen Movie Production Company to allocate greater share for advertisement to reach the public is groundless. There are many areas to be researched before getting into conclusion. So, SSM should conduct a deeper research before the allocation of budget for advertisement.