"In order to stop the recent decline in our profits, we must reduce operating expenses at Movies Galore's ten movie-rental stores. Since we are famous for our special bargains, raising our rental prices is not a viable way to improve profits. Last month our store in downtown Marston significantly decreased its operating expenses by closing at 6:00 P.M. rather than 9:00 P.M. and by reducing its stock by eliminating all movies released more than five years ago. By implementing similar changes in our other stores, Movies Galore can increase profits without jeopardizing our reputation for offering great movies at low prices."

In this argument the author urged to consider that with the reduction of operating cost, there wil be an increase in profit in the chains of movie rental stores. To support this recommendations, he states that one of their own rental store did that by closing the store early than expected and eliminating the older stocks. While some people agree to this propoganda, I find this argument unconvincing for some reasons.

First, the author talks about reducing the operating cost but he does not mention the nature of operations that needs to reduce. For instance, the employees working in the stores, Air conditioning cost or TV-Radio Electronics cost, all comes under the same roof. This assumption is unwarranted. If there will be the reduction in employees than the lesser number of employees will be there to engaged with the customers coming to the stores and to understand their requirements. If the air conditioning is switched off to some sections then not much customers will move along that shelfs of the movies which deprive of the AC. while the breif statement of reduction in operation cost seems to be a robust idea it deficit between what stated and what is there to evidence for it. This ultimately cause the week argument that will count against the author's conclusion.

Second, the author hypothesized that by reducing the older stocks of movies the operating cost can be reduced. This claim cannot be accepted as it stands. It is entirely possible that the retal stores high income is due to the fact that there comes the old movie lovers who rent the most. Also, as the stocks of the lastest movies takes time to relish therefore, many customers rental older movies. Perhaps, there some stores are located in the district where the older population is more then younger so renting the older movies makes sense. Therefore, this assumption is unwarranted and the argument lacks compelling and affluentreasons to to covince his proposal.

Third, the author posits that the store located in downtown Marston reducing its operating cost by closing the store earliar than usual. However, the author does not states the reason for that . it is possible that the merchants of downtown Marston closes their stores at 6pm. Perhaps, there is there the downfall of customers by already existing famous movie rental store in that area. Hence the author is flawed in a way that he fails to substantiate his conclusion with the strong evidence and is termed with poor reasonsing. The careful perusing of the evidence provide in the argument reveals that many questions have been left unanswered without which the reader cannot consider it to be consequential.

In conclusion, the is a vague and ambiguous argument. To bolster it, the author must at very least provide some concrete evidence, perhaps by the means of the survay in the various cities where this rental stored are situated to ensure whether there is the real nead for cutting down the store's operating cost