Ten years ago our company had two new office buildings constructed as regional headquarters for two regions. The buildings were erected by different construction companies—Alpha and Zeta. Although the two buildings had identical floor plans, the building constructed by Zeta cost 30 percent more to build. However, that building's expenses for maintenance last year were only half those of Alpha's. In addition, the energy consumption of the Zeta building has been lower than that of the Alpha building every year since its construction. Given these data, plus the fact that Zeta has a stable workforce with little employee turnover, we recommend using Zeta rather than Alpha for our new building project, even though Alpha's bid promises lower construction costs.

The author of this argument has drawn an optimistic conclusion to the vice president of a large company that by using the alfha company instead of zeta company in newly developed project because zeta company has more rates than that alfha. To strengthen the argument the author has cited many things against the zeta project, but fails to consider manty other factor which could affect this argument and can reverse the conclusion.

Firstly, The author compares the construction expenses of building having same floor plan. The cost of building company by zeta was more than that of alpha company. This maybe because the material used by both the companies are different. Maybe the material used by the company is very good than that of alpha company. So, the cost of the building is increased. Moreover, the argument does not provide the time when both the companies were built. If both the companies are newly built, then maybe now there is no problems in them but, what about long term? By using good material by zeta company can increase the span of the building and will stand tall during destruction.

Secondly, there is wrong comparision between the maintenance of the buildings. If the floor are of both the building is same, does that mean that the space occupied by both the buildings is same? Number of people working in both the buildings are same? No. Maybe the number of employees in building made by zeta company are more and so it require more maintenance than the other. Also, the location of the buildings are not provided, so maybe there is cost difference between the two places and so maintenance is high.

Thirdly, the author wants the alpha company to build the new building of that company becuase it was cheap at first stage, but Considering all above points, because expenses are low by the company alpha is low, does that mean that it will be same in other region? Maybe in other region the cost of building is high and so it will take more money. In addition, the cost of making building one year ago was something, then does that mean that now also after one year the cost will remain same? No.

Fourthly, The energy comnsuption is more by the building made by zeta, this is because the lights and fans are used more in that building. The number of flooreas are more and so consuption is more. The working hours of the buildings is also not provided. So, maybe the building made by zeta is used during night and so power consuption is more.

Thus, by considering all above points this argument does not stand. The reasons provided by the author are questionable and so it cannot be considered. To bolster the argument, the author needs to provide the statistical data of when and where the buildings were made and also provide the material which was used by both the companies in building.