Claim: It is no longer possible for a society to regard any living man or woman as a hero.

Reason: The reputation of anyone who is subjected to media scrutiny will eventually be diminished.

The advancement in the field of technology has made all the issues open to the public. Any type of news covered by media personnel reaches within a fraction of seconds, especially with human beings addicted to social networking sites and WhatsApp. Privatization is completely lost and even a small issue is being projected daily as a herculean task. However, the given argument cannot be denied as completely a true or false statement, as it the individual’s action that matters rather than an individual itself. Every man or woman could be regarded as a hero provided; they have done something useful for the country.

For instance, consider Mother Teresa who was an exemplary acted as a role model in most of the people’s life through the world. Born in Yugoslavia, she travelled to Calcutta in india and served the ill and downtrodden. she was a true Christian who followed the footsteps of the Christ. she was affectionate to the lepers and took great care of them. Till she gave her last breathe, she succumbed to great difficulties and endured all the pains in the name of Jesus. media portrayed her as a great individual who dedicated her life for the welfare of the needy.

Further, india’s Prime minister Narendra Modi, as a leader of the nation, took innumerable measures to make india a developed nation. he brought about two major changes. one is the demonetization, in which he completely eradicated black money. There was a huge opposition and he was severely criticized by the media because the middleclass and poor people had to stand in long queues to get the money to meet their basic demands. Nevertheless, he achieved the desired result. Secondly, he gave an insight to the individuals about the significance of being clean and hygiene. he campaigned for the Swachh Bharat to foster cleanliness in order to make a cleaner and greener nation.

Also, no one can forget the renowned scientist and the president of india, Dr. A.P.J. Abdul Kalam, a role model for the budding youngsters. he practiced what he preached. even at the time of his death, he was teaching the students at a college. he was regarded as one of the best teachers of his lifetime. No criticism has aroused about him. such people are regarded even today as heroes by the society.

On the other hand, persons like Vijay Mallya, could not escape from the limelight of the media. he was the subject of an extradition effort by the Indian government to return him to india from the UK to face charges of financial crimes. The reputation of such individuals is eventually diminished as they are subject to media scrutiny. they cannot be regarded as a hero by our society.

Thus, to conclude, we can be assured that it is the integrity and moral principles of an individual that is important. If we are true to ourselves and to others, then even media scrutiny cannot do anything to diminish the name and fame. On the other hand, even a speck of news could create speculations about the person which could lead to his deterioration.