In order for any work of art—for example, a film, a novel, a poem, or a song—to have merit, it must be understandable to most people.

this issue, In order for any work of art—for example, a film, a novel, a poem, or a song—to have merit, it must be understandable to most people, is highly controversial. different people may have different opinion about tis recommendation. the general fact of this topic is limited. we can't generalize about this topic. however i am not totally agree with this topic. I have ambiguous thought about this recommendation.

Firstly i believe that, we are watching more english film, movies, we listening plentiful english songs to learning english language and english words pronounces. when new film is going to realize in film theater, then many people go to watching that movies without understanding about the film and film producer earn money on those days. if film is good then people watch repeating, if not then people give advice also to not watch this movie after understanding about film.

second reason I believe that, some movies represent as tacit or implied, which we can't understand properly but we enjoy to seeing those movies and trying to understand also. many songs have only tune and we love that melodious tone, like harmonium, piano. in country India some people learning and teaching sastriya sangit. which is very beautiful. but we cant totally understand, but we feel so good to watching those type of dance, listening those type of song. and the film director or singer earn good money also.

third reason for my belief is that, if we understanding deeply any songs or poem or films and we like that then we watch or listen more and more times which is directly proportional to the merit of that songs or films or poem. if we can feel euphoria or rest or cool then only the film is going to superhit.

All above example prove that, understanding of people not totally hamper to earn money and popularity. ultimately it concludes that film art popularity or merit is depends upon the goodness or quality, only understanding is not affected to have merit.