People who make decisions based on emotion and justify those decisions with logic afterwards are poor decision makers.

Emotions are a very strong feelings for human beings, we tend to get emotional quite all of time because of numerous reasons, which is quite normal. However, author of the prompt mentions people who makes decisions based on emotion are poor decision makers, I strongly agree with the author, I will like give my insight why i agree with the above prompt.

As humans, we tend to get attached to somethings, and the when the times comes to let it go, we try to hold on to it even when it is hurting our self-interests. These decisions are emotional decisions and we try to use logic to explain, why did we hold on to it. For instance, Tata motor which use to be one of the leading automotive producers in India, they used to produce to a car which was to brain child of the chairman of the company and this car was very dear to the chairman, and company invested too much many in this production of these car, but there no return of investment from the car, and company started seeing revenue losses, all the financial analysts and board asked the chairman to stop the production of the car, but he refused to do it. So in the end, that car turned out to be a very bad for the company, a company which went from largest producer to none, because of the chairman who made the decision based on emotion rather than pragmatic.

Let's take another example, In 2019 cricket world cup, Indian cricket team captain, took a decision to retain a senior player who was in a really bad form because senior player was to the captain when he debuted for india, and he got attached to him, it turned out to be a destruous for team india, and then he started justify the decisions, he said the player was in the team because there was no senior player in the squad.

In conclusion, If you want to be a better decision maker, you should be pragmatic decision rather than a emotional one.