“Some people believe that corporations have a responsibility to promote the well-being of the societies and environments in which they operate. Others believe that the only responsibility of corporations, provided they operate within the law, is to make as much money as possible.”

Write a response in which you discuss which view more closely aligns with your own position and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should address both of the views presented.

Social Corporation Responsibility (SCR) is an emerging concept in management. Ubiquetelsy, many firms consider this approach in their managing style. Critics of this view, believe that companies' main role is to increase their value to distribute more profit to the stakeholders. on the contrary, others think that firms cannot turn a blind eye to their responsibility on the society and companies should embark on initiative projects in order to help the society. I believe that the main role of the enterprise is to make as much profit as possible.

The ultimate goal of a company is to have a constant increase in its profit in order to attract more investment and consequently more costumer. The reason that a company runs is profit. If it fails to increase their income, no more investors would be motivated to invest in their stocks meaning that they will not able to develop their products. Furthermore, if a company focused mainly on the profit, it would lift up the quality of the products as well as it would decrease the price of it. It is mainly because we are living in a competitive world and for surviving in this environment, firms should compete with each other resulting in high quality and lower price which burgeons the quality of people’s lives

Secondly, respecting the needs of society will increase the value of the company. It is commonly accepted that social responsibility projects have a considerable potential to increase the value of the company. In this view, stakeholders should have a long-term perspective and devote a part of the firm’s budget to help people in society. As a matter of fact, these kinds of projects would enhance respect of costumes to the particular brand. For example, Walmart, the giant retail store, started a project named Women empowerment. In this project, Walmart helped the development of small and medium enterprises ran by women in the developing countries. Although they Spent more than 16 million dollars for 6 years, the studies by scholars evaluated that it increased the brand value of Walmart and the tendency of people to shop more in their stores. The example illustrates the point that social responsibility projects and profit making of a company have a correlation.

In conclusion, I believe that the main function of the company is to enhance its profit but investing on CSR projects which do not have any profit in short-term will increase the value of the company as well as the profit of shareholders.