A company has announced that it wishes to build a large factory near your community. Do you support or oppose the factory? Explain your position.

Brand new building with high technology is the mark of city development. It could be a skyscraper or a modern factory with sophisticated machinery. If my community attracts a big company to open their new branches, in this case is a large factory, I personally support it, based on several reasons.

First, the factory will open a new job opportunity. The new factory will need numerous employees with broad range requirement. From security guards to the head of the factory, it will become the new source of income and subsequently lower the level of poverty in my area. It will contribute to the advancement of the community by paying tax to the government thus facilitates the government to fix public facilities and improve education and health facilities.

Second, it will bring investment to the area. When big factory constructs in your area, there will be an improvement in surrounding infrastructure. For instance, to build a new factory with a high capacity to produce goods, the company needs a proper road with numerous line and harder concrete. In addition, they will need a better street sign and public facility. It usually needs a producer of the material. To lower the transportation cost, they might try to build another factory. When there is need of high rates of shipping, they probably need an airport or a seaport. These new facilities will bring good to society. Freeport in middle of Papua Guinea is the best example for this. They have amazing highway, modern hospital and an international school in the middle of nowhere. All of these things could happen because of this big company.

Third, it will give new skills to our people. With new technology, the employee supposed to increase their knowledge. They need to adapt to new environment. They will push their kids to have higher education and so on. For example, because the minimal requirement to work in this large factory is high school diploma, a lot of parents send their kids to university outside their hometown, hoping they will get a higher position in the company. Increasing level of education is a sign of cultivated society and the better quality of life.

Of course, there are downsides with a big factory built near community complex. A risk of pollution from factory waste and diminished natural resources are several of them. But considering the advantage of this kind of construction, I believe this is right decision to make.