Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? All university students should be required to take history courses no matter what their field of study is. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer

The enhancement of advanced education is always one of the most significant pursuit for the government, and many questions have been proposed to fulfill the goal. Nowadays a new discussion over whether all college students should take historical lessons has been triggered, and from my understanding, I disagree with the statement because history lessons cannot help students find a job and are very difficult to set lessons for foreign students.

Firstly, learning history lesson cannot be helpful for students majoring in other fields to find a job after graduation. According to the latest research conducted by Tsinghua University, more than seventy percent of freshmen in the university indicated that they would like to find a decent job after graduation, and at the same year more than ninety percent of fresh graduates claimed that the reason they could find a job was that they had learned their professional lessons well. In other words, getting employed is one of the most important goal for nowadays' students, and history lessons cannot help students learning other disciplines because most of students choose to apply for jobs relevant with their majors. To be more specific, my friend James who majored in computer science graduated from university last year and have attended many interviews for the position of programmer for several months. He told me that historical questions such as the date or the reason of the foundation of a country have never been asked. So that is why I believe history lessons cannot satisfy the demands of finding a job of students.

Meanwhile, history lessons are complex to set up for universities enrolling foreign students. From 2020 statistics of England Educational Administration, every English university has average fifteen percent of international students totally in different schools and majors. Considering the existence of foreign students, the arrangement of history lessons can be a problem. On the one hand, it is hard for students from other country to understand ancient local conventions, so it can be a waste of time for them, especially for foreign students majoring in other fields. On the other hand, foreign students may feel unfair if the college only teaches them local history without teaching local students foreign histories. For instance, in my university, the history lessons are only set as elective courses. I have attended it several times and I have not found any foreign student, I asked my roommate came from Australia to go to the lesson with me before. He refused because he believed it could be too complex to be understood and he was more interested in learning Australian culture abroad.

However, some people may claim that history lessons can be extremely helpful for students to learn the development of the society and acquire more historical knowledge. It is true that history courses can be conducive to students, but students learning in other professions can gain much more from professional lessons, and it is very difficult to design a proper history class suitable for students from all countries. In a word, advantages of learning other professional lessons outweigh advantages of learning historical lessons.

In conclusion, I think it is unpractical to ask student from all majors to attend history lessons, because they cannot learn knowledge that help them to find a job and history lessons cannot satisfy all foreign students.