Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

It is difficult for teachers to be both popular(liked by students) and effective in helping students in learning.

Professors have difficulty to be effective in helping students in education. While some teachers are popular among students and are good at teaching a subject effectively, others only follow one way whether to be a teacher liked by students or have an ability to educate students meritoriously. It is so controvertible for professors to have both of the characters. In my view, teachers could not be the ideal which to be popular and effective. Once they become popular among students, they could not inspire students about lectures, keep the relationship between teachers and students, and frequently follow a topic about their lectures.

To begin with, teachers could not attract students to lectures if students started to like them. Most students would be curious about writing down the notes about the lectures they are interested in because they adore listening to an ordinary off-topic conversation instead of class material. For example, when I was a high school student, the teacher I was intriguing taught English in a classroom. Even though he was good at teaching English, I just tried to hear his talks about icebreaking. Therefore, I could not concentrate on the lecture anymore. From this perspective, it would be difficult for teachers to be both popular and effective.

Secondly, the relationship between professor and student breaks down when the teacher becomes popular. Generally speaking, the attitude of students in a class is so generous and polite because teachers are higher than students in the hierarchy between them. On the other hand, if students like their professors, they definitely pretend to show their attitude in a school with the same friendship as their friends. Consequently, they would not be keen on taking a class even if their teachers acquire the advanced method to teach students about some subjects.

Finally, a teacher who constructs popularity and effective teaching way often derails a topic about a class. Some lecturers try to talk about a general topic soon after starting a lecture such as news, political issues, and what they ate at dinner time, and so on. After that, students getting into the professors by a curiosity try to inflate the topics more and more. As a result, it would be limited time to teach some ample class materials by teachers every lecture even if they are good at teaching their expertise.

To sum up, it is demanding for lecturers to be both popular and effective to teach students in a lecture. I surely believe that professors could not push students on studying, retain the relationship between them, and follow the schedule they created by derailing topics about classes.