Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

Universities should require every graduating students to take public speaking courses. Give specific examples and details to support your answer.

No one can cast a shadow of doubt on the importance of public speaking as a useful skill. However, it is undeniable that people have always had a challenge with public speaking. In this regard, there is a debate among people on whether universities should oblige graduating students to take public speaking courses or not. In my opinion, universities should consider public speaking courses as a mandatory prerequisite for graduating students. I will elucidate my point of view in detail hereunder.

First of all, all graduating students should defend their theses in front of professors and students. Therefore, the public speaking ability is an obligatory requirement for them. In other words, without this ability, they will face some fundamental problem in defending their theses in front of their audience. My friend experience illustrates this issue quite well. In the last semester of our education, our university presented a public speaking course. I preferred to take this course to elevate my public speaking skills, but my friend didn't take it. At the end of the semester, we should have defended our thesis. Not only did that course help me to have high confidence, but also all professors admired me because of my perfect presentation. However, my friend couldn't appropriately present his thesis. He became ashamed because of his weak presentation. If our university had required taking the public speaking course, he would not have been ashamed in front of his professors and friends.

As the second reason, by requiring this course for graduating students, they will have a better career position in the future. For instance, as I mentioned beforehand, I took a public speaking course at university. Now, I work for a company cooperating with some foreign companies. Last week, we invited some agents from those foreign companies. My boss asked us to prepare a presentation about our last products for those agents. All my colleagues refused our boss demands because they didn't have enough confidence to do that. Hence, I decided to take that responsibility. I provided some slides and presented a good speaking and convinced those agents to buy our products. My boss admired me and promoted my career from a simple employee to the manager of the marketing section. Had I not passed the public speaking course in university, I would not have gotten such promotion in my career.

To sum up, to defend theses, students should learn how to present public speaking. Moreover, students will have a better position in their future careers if they pass a public speaking course at university. These are my reasons for why I believe that universities should oblige graduating students to take a public speaking course.